Under Fire

under_fire

It seems for every book I bring you here, there are five to 10 books that I start, but never finish because they just don’t tell a good story, or I can’t get beyond the less than stellar editing. And, I give them pages and pages to grab me, but sadly so many don’t. So, it’s with a great deal of pleasure I want to introduce you to Rachel Amphlett and her book, Under Fire.

At one time I would have never read an adventure/thriller written by a female. I’m sure glad I no longer have that rule, because I would have missed Ms Amphlett’s adventure. Great Britain is facing a cold winter and someone is sabotaging the gas supplies, or trying to do so. Enter Dan Taylor.

Taylor is a hero with whom we can identify. He doesn’t always have the answers, and can be fooled, but he moves forward.  Which is what separates him from the rest of us. He doesn’t get bogged down in self-recrimination when there’s a job to be done. He just keeps moving. It’s almost like an irresistible force meeting an immovable object…except the force adjusts and finds a way to win.

A great read that moves fast. Ms Amphlett has a new fan.

As a reminder: I try to review independent authors here who are available on the Kindle format. If you have suggestions, please let me know. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Under Fire

    1. Pete,

      You are so right. So, I should amend my thought to not knowingly reading a female author of this type of book. I’ve actually probably read several by female authors and just didn’t know it.

      Thanks for bringing it up.
      Phil

      Like

Let me know...